Investment Committee

The Board has appointed an Investment Committee to manage the Board’s investments including the Christian KiwiSaver Scheme. In many respects, the Investment Committee acts as an external fund manager to the Board.

The Investment Committee is made up of experienced industry professionals who share empathy for the aims of the Church. They work closely with management and oversee compliance with stated policies and limits.

The current members of the Investment Committee are:

Ian Millard QC (Chair) – LL.M, BCA
Ian has been a member of the Investment Committee for over 30 years and its Chair since 1991. Ian is a Wellington-based QC specialising in commercial law. He has provided significant support to the Anglican Church over many years.

Don Baskerville – BSc, AIA
Don is a business consultant with more than 30 years’ experience in the superannuation industry. He is an associate actuary and a member of the Institute of Directors. Don was a member of the Board from 1989 to 2012 and its Chair from 2003 to 2012.

The Reverend Dr Lyndon Drake – BCom, BSc (Hons), PhD, MA, MSt
Lyndon is a former Vice-President at Barclays Capital in London where he traded government bonds and interest rate derivatives. He is now the Kaiwhakamana Amorangi for Te Pihopatanga o Te Tai Tokerau and Priest-in-Charge of the Manukau group of Tikanga Maori Anglican churches. Lyndon is a member of the Institue of Directors and has experience in a range of charitable board and trust settings.

Brendan O’Donovan (Licensed Independent Trustee) – MCom (Hons)
Brendan has a background in financial markets, banking, monetary policy, financial stability and industry analysis. He has also part-owned, developed and been a director of a number of private companies, particularly in the retirement and child-care sectors. Brendan is a professional Director and is Chairman of The Co-operative Bank.

Kevyn Rendell – BA Hons, DipBS
Kevyn is a principal of Gould Steele & Co and has been a stockbroker for more than 35 years. He is a member of The Institute of Financial Professionals and an Authorised Financial Advisor.

David Stevens
David was formerly a general manager of a major bank and Executive Director of Workplace Savings New Zealand. He is a trustee board member and chair of a large workplace savings scheme and is involved in the management of a number of charitable organisations. David was a member of the Board between 1994 and 2009.

Hugh Stevens – BSc, BE (Hons), MBA
Hugh has worked in the financial services industry for over 15 years, both in New Zealand and overseas. He is CEO of Smartshares Limited. Along with Brendan O’Donovan, he is the Board representative on the Committee.